Friday, July 29, 2016
Text Size

Congregation Sha'aray Shalom

JCC Early Learning Centers

Groups & Committees

The committees at Congregation Sha'aray Shalom are the implementers of the infrastructure of our temple. Participation in a committee is open to all our membership. Working on a committee is a great way to get involved in the temple as well meet people and have a great time. Any member interested in a particular committee is encouraged to contact the chair of that committee. See committee chairs.

Our committees and their respective chairs are listed below:

Adult Education Committee

Adult Education Committee Chair: Penny Alschuler

The Adult Education Committee is responsible for promoting and conducting Jewish activities and programs for the Congregation and the community as a whole. Typical programs range from single day events such as our annual Hebrew Marathon to 2 month seminars on a particular Judaic topic lead by an expert in the particular area of study.

Men's Network Committee

 President / Committee Chair: Warren Boise

Bulletin Committee

Bulletin Committee Chair: Jennifer Ellett

The Bulletin Committee is responsible for the design, the gathering of content, advertising, and the publishing of our monthly Congregation newsletter.

Cemetery Committee

Cemetery Committee Chairs: Cathy Rein & Nancy Heller

Chavurah 2.0 Committee

Chavurah 2.0 Committee Chair: Scott Garland

Connections Committee

Connections Committee Chair: Laurie Dannison

Education Committee

The Education Committee establishes the regulations and curriculum for various school programs of our Congregation. It is also responsible for the school finances and hiring of personnel. This committee works closely with the Rabbi, school principal, and parents of our students.

Education / Youth Committee

Education/Youth Committee Chairs: Lisa Veldran & Karen Maravel

Endowment & Planned Giving Committee

Endowment & Planned Giving Committee Chair: Joe Stone

Finance Committee

Finance Committee Chair: David Alschuler

The Finance Committee is responsible for preparing the annual budget for the Congregation, reviewing requests for unbudgeted expenditures, periodically reporting budget status to the Executive Committee and reviewing an audit of the books on an annual basis.

Fundraising Committee

Fundraising Committee Chairs: Jay Tolman & Doug Jensen

Gift Cards Committee

Gift Cards Committee Chair: Mitch Marcus

Holy Rollers Committee

Holy Rollers Committee Chairs: Rusty Preble & Phyllis Koch

House Committee

House Committee Chair: Hank Wolfson

The House Committee is responsible for the upkeep and repair of the Temple building and its equipment. It also is responsible for the rules and regulations governing the use of the its facilities.

Membership Committee

Membership Committee Chair: Grace Strake & Kathleen Boise

The Membership Committee is responsible for the recruitment of members and the development of programs to introduce new members to the many aspects of temple life. This committee also is actively involved in promoting events and programs of interest for our established members to maintain and enhance their participation in our community.

Mitzvah Committee

Mitzvah Committee Committee Chairs: Laurie Dannison & Renee Rudolph

The Mitzvah Committee is responsible for assisting congregants through difficult periods of their lives. Its members provide rides to those who are unable to drive, meals to those who are sick, and condolence calls and assistance to those who have recently lost a loved one.

Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee Chair: Hal Shainwald

The Nominating Committee is responsible for interviewing and selecting members of the congregation for vacant positions on the Executive Board or Board of Trustees. Once this slate is established by this committee, the Nominating Committee presents this slate at our congregation's annual meeting in June to be voted on by the congregation.

Oneg Shabbat Committee

Oneg Committee Chair: Laurie Dannison

The Oneg Committee provides the organization and coordination of the families and individuals who setup and provide the Erev Shabbat Onegs on a weekly basis. This committee develops the annual family schedule and also assures that all the required materials and goods are available.

Passport to Israel Committee

Passport to Israel Committee Chair: Sally Bergstein

The Passport to Israel Committee coordinates the implementation and funding of the Passport to Israel program provided by the Combined Jewish Philanthropies (CJP) of Greater Boston. This is a program in which members of the congregation can set aside money which is matched by CJP for the purpose of sending a child in their late teens to Israel via one of many different CJP sponsored trips.

Publicity Committee

The Publicity Committee is responsible for promoting the many events that the congregation conducts during the year as well as providing general pieces to the local publications to acquaint the South Shore community of various aspects of our congregation.

Religious Practices Committee

Religious Practices Committee Chair: Jonathan Fox

The Religious Practices Committee, working very closely with the Rabbi, provides coordination, scheduling and guidance regarding rituals and observances at our congregation.

Sisterhood Committee

Sisterhood President Committee Chair:  Deb Farber

Social Action Committee/ Environmental Efficiency Committee

Environmental Efficiency Committee Chairs: Jodi Tolman & Ronit Goldstein

Social Networking Committee

Social Networking Committee Chair: Chana Snyder

Congregation Sha'aray Shalom
1112 Main Street
Hingham, MA 02043

Telephone: (781) 749-8103
Fax: (781) 740-1480